Metal, Bone & the Start of the Next Phase

I am fasting now and trying not to worry about what is coming up. Later today I will have my back sliced open, my spinal cord will be cleared of broken bone and a series of rods and screws will be put in.
The hospital have taken a sample of my blood and will have an exact match on standby in case I lose too much during the operation. And I will be back on the heavy duty pain killers.
I am scared but I know it is the best way forward.
I have cried and laughed in here and I know there will be more to come.
This operation will not fix my legs,only the bones, but it is the start of the next phase. That in itself is just about enough to keep us all going.
I am starting to get a pre-race feeling pumping through me.
Scared and excited. I think my mind and body must be taking over already and be getting ready for it…
21 Responses to “Metal, Bone & the Start of the Next Phase”


  1. 1 Orla Murphy August 3, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Dear Mark,

    Here’s sending you back some of the inspiration you have put my way. I’m wishing you all the best today and always.

    Orla M

  2. 2 Ali glasgow August 3, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Good luck today mark. You have been, and will be, in my thoughts & prayers xx

  3. 3 Len Dunne August 3, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Best of luck today Mark, Len

  4. 4 Cian O'Loingsigh August 3, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Mark,good luck today, my thoughts are with you.

  5. 5 claire August 3, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Hi Mark,
    I’m thinking of you and hope our messages give you extra strength and energy.
    Looking forward to your next post.
    Take care
    Claire

  6. 6 Darragh August 3, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    Very best of luck Mark – look forward to seeing you back up and at them soon!

  7. 8 Paul Reid August 3, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Mark

    Best wishes for this next stage on your road to recovery.

    From all at NIOBA

  8. 9 James August 4, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Best of luck, Polly. Rooting for you.
    Murph.

  9. 10 Klair O'Brien August 5, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Fingers crossed that the operation went well and Best of luck with the recovery process. I have no doubt that you will overcome this and even further inspire me!!!

    Klair

  10. 11 Andy Stone August 5, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Best of luck mate, hope the op went well and the recovery can now begin. Cheers Stoney

  11. 12 Wendy McCullough August 5, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Mark I hope all went well with the operation…. Best wishes for this next stage of recovery… Wendy x

  12. 13 chris brindley August 6, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Mark

    Our thoughts are with you. You are an inspiration to me and millions of others. Be strong. Chris

  13. 14 Tony McManus August 7, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    Mark, we’ve never met but your story is an inspiration. Keep inspiring those you’ll never know your trip has touched. There’s people around this small globe wishing you well.

    I was friends with Simone while at UCG. She’s found an amazing man in you.

    Tony

  14. 15 Donal Cronin August 9, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    Mark – I hope all has gone well, you are in our thoughts, Donal

  15. 16 tyrella August 9, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Hi Mark,

    There are so many people thinking of you in NI. I hope the operation went well. No doubt you are being well cared for by Simone and your Ma and Emma.

    Witn much love and prayers for more of the same strength that has kept you going since you were a wee boy coming into the Body Shop in your shorts!

    Helen Parks (Chambers)

  16. 17 Tim Chrishop August 11, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Hi Mark,

    Hope all went well with the operation. I know you have the mental and physical strength to get through this.

    Tim and Caroline

  17. 18 Alan McKelvey August 11, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    There’s not a day that we don’t think of you. You are and will be an inspiration to us all.

    Alan McKelvey and Anne Molloy

  18. 19 Nigel Thompson August 16, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Mark,
    hope things went well with the op. Keep positive as always! Everyone at Belfast Lough Sailability have you in their thoughts

  19. 20 Ann September 6, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    What a man you are… an inspiration keep strong
    Ann

  20. 21 Aoife Walsh September 6, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Hi Mark,

    You are a true inspiration, if only the world were full of people like you. Keep strong. Best of Luck in recovery.

    Aoife


Leave a Reply

