Back Rowing At Project Walk – The Video

Check out a video of my first faltering strokes on a rowing ergometer at Project Walk.

I thought that rowing without the use of my legs would be a complete waste of time but, with the set up improvised by Margarita at Project Walk, I was able to give it a go. You’ll notice that I’m using parallel bars and my arms to do much of the work and the set up is allowing me to work my stomach and my lower back as well.

However, in these early stages as I try to connect to my paralysed lower half, the key is to exercise at all times with weight bearing loads through my feet. Although I’m not using my legs, there is weight being transferred through my limbs to my feet during the partial rowing strokes that I’m taking.

It’s not pretty and it’s not going to win me medals any time soon. But as part of the overall programme of thousands of weight bearing movements, it might just help my nerves to re-route around my injury site in my spine and gradually connect the brain and the muscles.

 

5 Responses to “Back Rowing At Project Walk – The Video”


  1. 1 Len Dunne March 18, 2011 at 10:15 am

    Hey Mark. Loved watching you row again. People at my workplace are now following your progress. They’ve christened you the ‘cockroach’ because they reckon that nothing can defeat you. Keep it up matey. Len

  2. 2 Milly Durrant March 18, 2011 at 11:51 am

    Hi Mark

    Me and my collegaues saw you speak at the CSPN Convention in March 2010 and you were a real inspiration.
    We’re saddened to hear about your accident, but can already see from your blog that nothing can defeat you with your remarkable positive attitude and outlook. All the best of luck with project walk from all the FSPA team! We’ll be following your progress in awe!

  3. 3 Dearbhaile Baldwin March 18, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Best of luck Mark

  4. 4 mathieu norry March 18, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    Great to see you back in your sporting element again, you seem to have a spring about you and seem motivated and very determined as always.. fight the good fight. enjoying your updates on twitter too 🙂 Mathieu

  5. 5 Mike Buckley March 19, 2011 at 11:26 am

    You are the only man I know who smiles a huge wide grin whilst pushing his body to the max! Great to see you back in action (as it were). Keep up the great work.
    Lots of love from Singapore
    Michael and Bambi.


Leave a Reply

@markpollock


