A Growing Desire For Adventure

No traffic, no meetings and no rush. It is a place where the wild rainy weather we are having is described as a ‘soft day’. There is time out here. Time to think. And it seems, time to get excited about life’s incredible possibilities.

Since my accident, and the paralysis, I’ve been busy trying to accept the day to day realities of life in a wheelchair. The effect on me personally is, in a sense, easy to imagine. But this injury has also hit Simone in a way that I suspect I don’t truly understand yet. I am not sure if I can acknowledge the pain my accident has given my family and friends. It has taken such a long time to deal with the initial phase of this life expedition.

I just read Jessica Salter’s article int oday’s Daily Telegraph Magazine. ; I first met Jessica in 2008 when I was in London at the launch of the South Pole Race. At the time she worked in The Telegraph Online, which covered our part in the race. Recently I spoke to Jessica at length about the accident and ensuing difficult times. Reading her article has fanned the flames of my desire to get back into the adventure arena. It has made me conscious of the importance of actively deciding how we fill our lives. (The article)

The article reminds me of how important the South Pole experience was. Of putting myself in an environment where I risked failure, where I had to push beyond my expectations of what is possible in order to succeed.

Ross Whitaker has just released our documentary about The South Pole Race, called “Blind Man Walking”, which is available on Amazon

And my point? Since this accident, I have had no desire for adventure. I suspect my mind has been cluttered with the drive to survive. But, in the last few weeks it has been full of memories. I’ve been in deserts, inside the Arctic Circle, and on angry seas. A collection of memories that I didn’t see with my eyes, but experienced through adventure. I’m feeling that I need to step outside the routine of my life to focus on the simple day to day of an expedition.

I have lots of work to do to simply survive this. I have lots of work to do to try to walk again. But the perspective that expeditions bring to life might just be what I need.

Let me know if you have any adventures planned? Or better still if you are in the middle of one now.

5 Responses to “A Growing Desire For Adventure”


  1. 1 Julie in the dail. April 7, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Happy easter,hope you find a new adventure soon,why dont you pop in the dail for lunch when you get back..

  2. 3 shelleytaylor1957 April 15, 2012 at 8:40 am

    I’ve had personal knowledge of loss, not the loss of use of any body parts, but of my only child. I imagine that it might be like your loss of your legs only because my son was everything that made me me. So three years into this journey since he died I can attest to the importance of adventure. 2 1/2 years into the journey I decided to take a road trip, to visit places he’d been and cooked and acted and lived. And then I made a documentary of it so that I could remind myself later that I have indeed survived something that I thought I couldn’t. It wasn’t so much a physical adventure as an emotional one. It took me one year to film and edit and finish the documentary. It was grueling, exhausting and totally engaging. Doing it I was not aware of just how big an adventure it was, but now that I’ve finished I miss those turbulent seas, the survival, climbing over huge obstacles and the pride at achieving this one goal.

    I’m glad you are feeling that urge again. It must be some part of the healing. I would love to accompany you, really, on your next adventure. Maybe I can be a kind of sherpa for you. I’ve never been a physical adventure person, but have camped and backpacked my whole life. Please tell me if you need a cheering section or someone to help carry your bags, physical or emotional. I think you are great, a real life hero! Thanks for keeping your blog going and sharing your life journey with us.

    x

  3. 4 colinmunro1 May 2, 2012 at 11:38 am

    Inspiring stuff Mark

  4. 5 Noreen Callaghan June 10, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    great to see you with the olympic torch on telly,you looked greeeeeaaat


Leave a Reply

@markpollock


